Lawyer salary

In-house attorney in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania — Money Diary

Occupation: Compliance Advisor
Industry: Health care
Age: 35
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Salary: $145,000
My husband’s salary: $750,000 ($400,000 base and $350,000 drawn at the end of the year)
Net value : $2.1 million (home value: $2 million; savings/investments: $500,000; 401(k): $600,000; HSA: $25,000 less mortgage. Our finances are fully joint. )
Debt: Mortgage: $1 million
Amount of my paycheck (1x/month): $6,000
Amount of my husband’s paycheck (2x/month): $11,000
Pronouns: She she

Monthly expenses
Mortgage: $5,000
401(k): $1,250 each (my employer contributes an additional $12,000 per year; my husband’s company contributes an additional $20,000 to $40,000 per year)
Health insurance: $430 for our high-deductible health plan and $400 for my mother’s insurance
HSA: $100 (my employer contributes an additional $2,000 per year)
Dependent Care FSA: $416
Utilities: $500 to $1,000
Television/Internet: $300
Hulu/Disney/Netflix: $30
Car insurance: $120
Car park: $400
Daycare for dogs: $600
Gym/Personal Training: $700
Mother’s allowance: $2,000 (to spend money on my mom so she doesn’t dip into her savings, which she spends mostly on our children)
Cell: $150
Cleaner: $360
Support for a family abroad: $200 (covers rent, groceries, and school fees/supplies for a grandmother raising her grandchild)
Support for a student abroad: $100 (covers tuition/supplies and extra spending money for a student from a poor family)

Annual expenses:
Property tax : $18,000
Home Insurance: $6,000
Local income tax: $27,000 (for my husband)
Private school: $50,000
Instagram: $120
Donations: $3,000 to $6,000